Donald T.H. TAN (Singapore)

Professor Donald Tan is the Medical Director of the Singapore National Eye Centre (SNEC), Chairman of the Singapore Eye Research Institute (SERI) and Professor of Ophthalmology at the National University of Singapore. He heads the SNEC Cornea and Refractive Services and is also Medical Director of the Singapore Eye Bank. A corneal and refractive surgeon by training, his research contributions lie in new forms of selective lamellar keratoplasty, femtosecond corneal and refractive surgery, the Osteo-Odonto Keratoprosthesis (OOKP) artificial cornea, surgical devices for lamellar corneal transplantation, and interventional myopia clinical trials.

He has published over 250 peer-reviewed articles, contributed 18 book chapters and holds 12 patents in stem cell culture, refractive corneal implants and novel inserters for DSAEK surgery. He was instrumental in bring ARVO to Asia in the form of Asia-ARVO, has conducted over 80 international teaching courses, and has also trained 23 corneal fellows from 13 countries from 4 continents. Professor Tan is the recipient of over 20 awards, which include the APAO 2001 De Ocampo Award, the AAO 2006 Distinguished Achievement Award, the ISRS/AAO 2009 Casebeer Award, the Saudi Ophthalmological Society 2010, Gold Medal, the Australia and New Zealand Corneal Society 2011 Doug Coster Award, and the Canadian Society of Ophthalmology 2011 W. Bruce Jackson Award.

He is currently President Elect of The Cornea Society, and President of the Asia Cornea Society (ACS) and the Association of Eye Banks of Asia (AEBA). In 2012, he will be appointed as the President of the Cornea Society, the Society’s first international president.