Ke YAO (China)

Professor Yao earned his Medical Degree with honors at Shanghai Second Medical University in 1988. Then he finished his two-year fellowship at the University Eye Hospital in Basel, Switzerland. He was invited to the United States as visiting scholar twice for a total of six months. He was appointed professor of ophthalmology in 1991 and serve as the chief of the Eye Institute of Zhejiang University and ZJU Eye Center since 1997.

Prof. Yao has a special interest in anterior segment eye diseases including cataract and glaucoma. He is a surgical innovator and strives to optimally customize the treatment for an individual patient. He is one of the first surgeons to perform cataract phacoemulsification nationwide, and contributes to the improvement of phacoemulsification techniques as well as combined viscocanalostomy. Prof. Yao has received regional, national, and international referrals. At the same time, he is dedicated to teaching residents, fellows and medical students, and involved in training hundreds of cataract surgeons from 33 provinces throughout China. He has been an invited speaker to over thousand meetings regionally, nationally, and internationally, and interviewed for international newspapers and CCTV programs.

Prof. Yao is named the current President of Chinese Ophthalmological Society, Vice President of Asia-Pacific Association of Cataract and Refractive Surgeons (APACRS) and President of the Chinese Cataract Society. He has received a number of awards in recognition of his work. In 1990, he won the Alfred-Vogt Award in Switzerland and National Award of Science and Technology Progress in China, which is the highest honor in science and technology. In 2007, he was awarded the National Award of Science and Technology Progress again. So far, he has been awarded the Asia-Pacific Association of Cataract and Refractive Surgeons (APACRS) Gold Award, APACRS Certified Educator (A.C.E) Award, US-Sino Ophthalmology Golden Key Award and US-Sino Ophthalmology Golden Apple Award. Recently, Prof. Yao was awarded the Chinese Physician Prize, which is the highest award of Ministry of Health approved Chinese Medical Doctor Association.