Santosh HONAVAR (India)

Dr Santosh G Honavar, MD, FACS, had his basic medical education at the Bangalore Medical College. He was the Best Graduate of the University in 1988. He received residency training in Ophthalmology, followed by subspecialty training in Ophthalmic Plastic Surgery and Ocular Oncology at the Dr Rajendra Prasad Center for Ophthalmic Sciences, All India Institute of Medical Sciences, New Delhi. He was adjudged the Best Resident. Dr Honavar further trained in Ocular Oncology and was mentored by Profs JA Shields and CL Shields at the Wills Eye Hospital, Philadelphia, PA, USA. He thereafter established the Ocular Oncology Service at the LV Prasad Eye Institute, Hyderabad, the first such facility in the country. He currently leads the Medical Services team at the Centre for Sight, and also heads CFS Education. Dr Honavar leads the International Council of Ophthalmology fellowship curriculum development committee and the oculoplasty section of the residency curriculum development committee, while being on the ICD11 panel as well. He is currently the Editor of the Indian Journal of Ophthalmology, Program Committee member of the American Academy of Ophthalmology and the President of Asia Pacific Society of Ocular Oncology and Pathology.

His current research interests comprise of tumors of the ocular surface, orbit and retinoblastoma. Dr Honavar has extensively published in peer reviewed journals (over 220 manuscripts) and has written several book chapters, while being a reviewer for all the major journals in ophthalmology and oncology. Dr Honavar’s overall research contributions that have had very significant impact on the diagnosis and management of retinoblastoma and its outcome.

Some of the major awards and honors to his credit include seven Gold Medals and the Best Graduate Award by the Bangalore University for excellence in MBBS, 1988; State Award for Academic Excellence by the Government of Karnataka, 1988; Pfizer Post-graduate National Award & Medallion, 1990; Col Rangachari Gold Medal by the AIOS, 1992; Best Resident Award by the Dr Rajendra Prasad Center for Ophthalmic Sciences, All India Institute of Medical Sciences, New Delhi, 1995; ARVO-Santen International Fellowship by the ARVO, 1996; Zeigler International Fellowship by the Orbis International, New York, USA, 1999; Young Scientist Award by the Indian Society of Oncology, 2000; Best of Show Award for the video film by the American Academy of Ophthalmology, 2002 and 2006; Achievement Award by the American Academy of Ophthalmology, 2002; Dr Siva Reddy International Award by the AIOS, 2007, Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Award by the Government of India, 2010, Prof MA Matin Award by the Bangladesh Academy of Ophthalmology, 2013 and Jerry Shields International Award by APAO, November 2013.